Please, No Touching!: Week 3

25 Sep

So, Week 3 has come and gone. And, what an interesting week it has been!

I know that a lot of my college friends are having a rough week this week with many exams/essays/other equally thrilling class work. So hopefully it will make you feel better to know that Week 3 was my tough week. I literally put the ‘study’ in study abroad (more than I normally do of course). I had a final, an essay, classwork assignments, and a level test to prepare for.  So, most of my days consisted of a thrilling schedule of going to class, eating, napping, studying and eating some more. Essentially the life of a college student, just in another country and sans the UDairy Ice Cream.

And, like any average college student, I have found multiple ways to procrastinate. Just this week, I found a website that plays American TV abroad. So, not to worry, I am caught up on Survivor.!

The most exciting parts of the week happened this past weekend! First, I started off my weekend like any good Catholic girl, by attending mass. Yes, on a Friday night. However, this mass was different, because it was celebrating the Coronation of the Virgin Mary, so it is a special ceremony that only happens once every 100 years. So, it was kind of a big deal.

Image

Church covered in flowers prior to the mass!

Then, I had my first discoteca experience. Yes, after attending church I headed over to the discoteca. I even wore the same clothes…now that’s versatility! In Spain, a discoteca = a club. And, needless to say, it was an experience. There were a lot of people there, so it was very cramped and there was lots of touching of and by random people. Plus, there were oodles of single men there on the prowl. One would think that for me, a boyfriendless American girl, this would be a good thing. But no, it was not. A large group of American girls dancing attracts many strange men who think it is okay to grab you from behind and start dancing with you. Talk about uncomfortable. And, just like how a dog always seems to pay more attention to a person who obviously doesn’t like it, these men are the same way. They always seem to go toward the girl who is glancing around nervously with a panicked look on her face. Lucky me. Needless to say, I had to do quite a few awkward shuffles to get away from the prowling guys. The best way to describe the night was that it was an experience. I didn’t get home until 5 in the morning though. That, my friends, is a new record! Certainly not one that I am inclined to beat though.

Then, on Sunday, along with my program, I went hiking and to the Arab Baths (like a giant spa). The hike was 8 miles long, and I really enjoyed it. There were beautiful views of the mountainous terrain, as well as the city. Plus, I took enough tree pictures to make my older brother, Andrew, proud.

Image

The Mountains!

Image

Just one of many tree pics!

Image

Awkward Selfie Shot on top of the Mountain!

After walking all morning, it was time for the Arab Baths, which are a spa that feature three baths of different temperatures and a massage. Needless to say, my mom would have been in heaven. Me, not so much. While I enjoyed the baths, I did not enjoy the massage. I learned the hard way that I am far too ticklish to have someone rub my legs/back. It is an experience that I do not need to have again. But it seems to me that an overall theme of the weekend was: please, no touching!

So, it has been 3 weeks, as I mentioned above. In the past few days, there have been a few other things that I have noticed about life here in Spain. #1- Ambulances make the same sound, in case you were concerned/curious. #2- If I get lung cancer, it will undoubtedly be from my semester here. There are a ton of people who smoke and a large majority do it in public. It is nearly impossible to walk down the street or sit at a cafe without breathing in some lovely, killer, secondhand smoke. #3- There is no such thing as a ‘leash law’ here in Spain. You can only imagine how thrilled I am when I am running and a giant German Shepard is trotting alongside me about a foot from my leg. So much fun. I love it so much.

Well, Week 3 flew by! It is strange to think that I only have 13 weeks until I touch down on American soil. Yes, that also means that Christmas is in less than 13 weeks. I hope you all have started your lists to Santa. I sure have!

Overall, I am enjoying my time here in Spain and I can’t wait to see what this next week brings! Hope all you college kids back home are enjoying your exams/essays/quizzes/lectures! But please, eat some ice cream for me…

Leave a Reply

